*

Summary

Currently, 29 states and also D.C. Have minimum wages over the federal minimum fairy of $7.25 every hour.

You are watching: In january 2017, the minimum hourly wage was:

Five states have not embraced a state minimum wage: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, southern Carolina and Tennessee. 2 states, Georgia and also Wyoming, have actually a minimum wage listed below $7.25 per hour. In all seven of these states, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour applies.

2020 HighlightsTwenty-one states began 2020 with higher minimum wages. Seven says (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Montana, Ohio, south Dakota, and Vermont) automatically increased your rates based upon the cost of living, while 14 states (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, new Jersey, brand-new Mexico, brand-new York, and Washington) raised their rates because of previously approved legislation or ballot initiatives.2019HighlightsEighteen states started the brand-new year with greater minimum wages. Eight states (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Montana, new Jersey, Ohio, southern Dakota and also Vermont) instantly increased their rates based on the expense of living, when 10 states (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massacusetts, Missouri, new York, Rhode Island and also Washington) increased their rates as result of previously approved law or ballot initiatives. Other states that will see rate increases throughout the2019 calendar yearinclude D.C., Delaware, Michiganand Oregon.2018 HighlightsEighteen states started the new year with greater minimum wages.Eight says (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, new Jersey, Ohioand south Dakota) automatically increased their rates based on the cost of living, while eleven states (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Michigan, new York, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington) increased their rates as result of previously approved law or ballot initiatives. 2017HighlightsNineteen states started 2017with higher minimum wages. Seven states (Alaska, Florida, Missouri, Montana, brand-new Jersey, Ohio and South Dakota) automatically increased your rates based upon the cost of living, five states (Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Maine and Washington) enhanced their prices through ballot campaigns previously approved by voters, and also seven says (California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, brand-new York and also Vermont) go so together a result of regulation passed in front sessions. Washington D.C., Maryland and Oregonraised their particular minimum earnings on July 1, 2017 due to previously spread legislation.2016HighlightsVoters in Arizona, Colorado, Maineand Washington authorized November ballot procedures to progressive their respective minimum wages. Arizona, Coloradoand Maine will incrementally increasetheir minimum salaries to $12 an hour through 2020. Washington's will be enhanced incrementally to $13.50 an hour by 2020.New York came to be the second state to happen a brand-new law that would certainly raise the minimum wage in new York City to $15 every hour by the finish of 2018. Washington D.C. Followed suit, it spreads widely a law to advanced the minimum fairy in the ar to $15 every hour by July 1, 2020.On April 4, California governor Jerry Brown signed SB 3 into law.The new law rises the minimum fairy to $15 per hour by Jan.1, 2022, for employers v 26 or more employees.For employers v 25 or under employees the minimum wage will reach $15 every hour through Jan.1, 2023.Increases might be paused by the branch if specific economic or budgetary conditions exist. Beginning the an initial Jan.1 after the minimum wage reaches $15 per hour for smaller sized employers, the minimum fairy is indexed every year for inflation.On march 23, branch Kenneth Mapp that the Virgin islands signed act 7856, establishing an $8.35 minimum wage v scheduledannual rises on June 1, 2017, and also 2018 until the rate reaches $10.50. On march 2, Oregon governor Kate Brown signed SB 1532 right into law. That establishesa collection of annual minimum wage increases from July 1, 2016, v July 1, 2022. Start July 1, 2023, the minimum wage rate will be indexing to inflation based upon the customer Price Index.Fourteen states start the brand-new year with higher minimum wages. Of those, 12 states increased their prices through law passed in the 2014 or 2015 sessions, while two states instantly increased your rates based upon the expense of living.Of the 11states that right now tie increases to the cost of living, eight walk not boost their minimum wage rates for 2016. Colorado noted for an 8-cent increase and also South Dakota granted a 5-cent increase per hour. Boosts in Nevada are compelled to take result in July.Maryland, Minnesota and also D.C. Have added increases booked for 2016. Nevada will announce in July whether or not there will certainly be a cost of living rise to their indexed minimum wage.

State Minimum Wages

The table below reflects present state minimum earnings in effect as of Jan. 1, 2021, and future spreading increases.

State Minimum wage LegislationStateMinimum WageFuture EnactedIncreasesIndexed AutomaticAnnual Adjustments
Alabamanone
Alaska$10.34Indexed annual increases beginJan. 1, 2017. (2014 ballot measure)
American Samoavaries 1
Arizona$12.15Rate increased annually based upon cost the living beginning Jan. 2021 (2016 ballot measure)
Arkansas$11.00

California2

$14.00

Indexed annual increases basedon CPIbeginJan. 1, 2023

Colorado

$12.32

Rate enhanced annually based on cost the living beginning Jan. 1 2021 (2016 ballot measure)

Connecticut

$12.003

Indexed yearly increases based on the employment cost index start January 1, 2024

Delaware

$9.25

D.C.

$15.00

Indexed yearly increases based on CPIbegin July 1, 2021

Florida

$8.65

Annual rise based cost of living. (Constitutional revised 2004)

Georgia

$7.25

Guam

$8.75

Hawaii

$10.10

Idaho

$7.25

Illinois

$11.00

Indiana

$7.25

Iowa

$7.25

Kansas

$7.25

Kentucky

$7.25

Louisiana

none

Maine

$12.155

Indexed yearly increases based on CPIbegin jan 1, 2021

Maryland

$11.756

Massachusetts

$13.507

Michigan

$9.65

*2021 wage boost delayed; see408.934(2) of Public act 337 the 2018, together amended.

Minnesota

$10.00/$8.158

Indexed annual increases beginJan. 1, 2018.

(2014 legislation)

Mississippi

none

Missouri

$10.309

Minimum wage raised or diminished by cost of living starting Jan. 1, 2024. (2018ballot measure)

Montana

$8.7510

Increases done annually based upon the CPI and also effective Jan. 1 the the following year. (2006 ballot measure)

Nebraska

$9

Nevada

$9.00/$8.0011

Increases subject to the commonwealth minimum wage and consumer price index. Increases take effect July 1. (Constitutional revised 2004/2006).

New Hampshire

$7.25

New Jersey

$12.0012

Indexed annual increases based upon the CPI start 2025. (2019 legislation)

New Mexico

$10.50

New York

$12.5013

North Carolina

$7.25

North Dakota

$7.25

Northern Mariana Islands$7.25

Ohio

$8.80/$7.2514

Indexed annual increases based upon the CPI. (Constitutional modification 2006)

Oklahoma

$7.25/$215

Oregon

$12.0016

Indexed yearly increases based upon the CPIare reliable July 1, 2023 (2016 legislation)

Pennsylvania

$7.25

Puerto Rico

$7.25/$5.08 17

Rhode Island

$11.50

South Carolina

none

South Dakota

$9.45

Annual indexed rises beginJan. 1, 2016. (2014 ballot measure.)

Tennessee

none

Texas

$7.25

Utah

$7.25

Vermont

$11.75

Beginning Jan. 1, 2019, minimum wage increased each year by 5% or the CPI, whichever is smaller; it cannot decrease. Note: Vermont began indexing in 2007 however enacted extr increases in 2014.(2014 legislation)

Virgin Islands

$10.50

Virginia

$7.25

Washington

$13.69

Annual indexing increases began Jan. 1, 2020. (ballot measure up 2016)

West Virginia

$8.75

Wisconsin

$7.25

Wyoming

$7.25

Notes

1American Samoa: The same Minimum fairy Act of 2007 (Public law 110-28) sets minimum wage prices within American Samoa and provides for additional increases in the minimum wage of $0.50 every hour yearly on might 25, until reaching the minimum wage normally applicable in the joined States. The wage rates are collection for specific industries, no for one employee's particular occupation. The rates are minimum rates; an employer may select to salary an employee at a rate higher than the rate(s) because that its industry.

3Connecticut: The Connecticut minimum fairy rate instantly increases to 1/2 of 1 percent over the rate set in the same Labor requirements Act if the federal minimum wage rate amounts to or becomes higher than the State minimum.

4Illinois:Employers through 50 or fewer full-time employees space eligible because that a taxation credit same to a certain percentage that the cost of their annual wage increases. Job are only eligible because that the credit transaction if the typical wage for employees making $55,000 or less rises over the year. The amount of the credit that can be asserted is together follows: 25 percent for the 2020 reporting period; 21 percent for 2021; 17 percent for 2022; 13 percent for 2023; 9 percent because that 2024; 5 percent for 2025; 5 percent for 2026; 5 percent for 2027, but only because that employers with no much more than 5 employees.

5The Maine minimum wage is immediately replaced v the commonwealth minimum wage rate if it is higher than the State minimum.

7The Massachusetts minimum fairy rate automatically increases come 10 cents over the rate set in the same Labor requirements Act if the federal minimum wage equates to or becomes greater than the State minimum.

8Minnesota: through the passage of H.B. 2091 (2014), the annual sales volume threshold was lessened to $500,000. For huge employers, through an yearly sales volume of $500,000 or more, the minimum wage is currently $9.50; for tiny employers, those v an yearly sales volume of less than $500,000, the minimum fairy is $7.75.

9Missouri - In addition to the exemption because that federally covered employment, the law exempts, amongst others, employee of a retail or service service with gross yearly sales or company done of much less than $500,000.

10Montana: the $4.00 rate uses to businesses through gross annual sales of $110,000 or less; $8.15 uses to all others.

11Nevada: $8.25 without health and wellness benefits; $7.25 with health and wellness benefits.

13New York:The new minimum fairy varies throughout the state based on geographical ar and, in new York City, employer size.

New York Minimum WageYearNYC big Employers (11 or more employees)NYC little Employers (10 or fewer employees)NY Downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties)
Dec. 31, 2017$13$12$11
Dec. 31, 2017$15$13.50$12
Dec. 31, 2017--$15$13
Dec. 31, 2017----$14
Dec. 31, 2017----$15

14Ohio: $7:25 for employers grossing $299,000 or less

15Oklahoma: labor of ten or much more full-time employees at any one location and employers with yearly gross sales over $100,000 regardless of of number of full-time employees room subject to commonwealth minimum wage; all others room subject come state minimum wage of $2.00 (OK ST T. 40 § 197.5).

16Oregon:In enhancement to the new standard minimum fairy rate, SB 1532 sets out a higher rate for employers located in the urban expansion boundary, and also a lower rate for employers situated in nonurban counties. Their respective planned rises are below.

Oregon Minimum WageYearPortland MetroNonurban Counties
July 1, 2016$9.75$9.50
July 1, 2017$11.25$10
July 1, 2018$12$10.50
July 1, 2019$12.50$11
July 1, 2020$13.25$11.50
July 1, 2021$14$12
July 1, 2022$14.75$12.50
July 1, 2023$1.25 over typical minimum wage$1 listed below standard minimum wage

17Puerto Rico: Employers spanned by the federal Fair Labor standards Act (FLSA) are subject to the commonwealth minimum wage of $7.25. Job not spanned by the FLSA will be subject to a minimum wage the is at the very least 70 percent the the commonwealth minimum wage or the applicable obligated decree rate of $5.08, whichever is higher. The Secretary of Labor and also Human Resources may authorize a rate based upon a reduced percentage for any employer who can display that implementation of the 70 percent price would considerably curtail employment in that business.

Other Exceptions

Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas, Puerto Rico, Utahand Virginia exclude native coverage any type of employment that is subject to the federal Fair Labor standards Act.

See more: Is Dwayne Johnson A Trump Supporter, Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson Vs

Hawaii, Kansasand Michigan exclude from coverage any type of employment that is subject to the commonwealth Fair Labor standards Act, if the State wage is higher than the federal wage.The Georgia state minimum wage is $5.15. Employees covered under the commonwealth Fair Labor standards Act room subject come the commonwealth minimum wage of $7.25, yet those not covered under the FLSA might be payment the state minimum wage of $5.15.